In 1929–1930, on the territory of USSR began to form a network of camps, in which the convicts were serving their sentences - not only for domestic and criminal crimes, but also for political reasons.

Building of the
White Sea-Baltic Canal

Having been deprived of freedom, rights and normal living conditions, emaciated prisoners were forced to develop hard-to-reach lands, cut wood, mine coal and gold, build railways, canals, power stations and even whole cities.

Road construction

For more than 20 years of the GULAG existence, about twenty million people passed through the camps, every tenth stayed in the GULAG forever.

The workers sort out the rock

Eventually, the word «GULAG», originally the acronym for "Head office of the camps", became an ominous symbol of lawlessness, life on the verge of death, hard labor and human injustice.

GULAG History Museum

GULAG History Museum in its subject, mission, history of occurrence is included in the category of memory museums, each of which is based on a painful event that is difficult to comprehend.

The building of GULAG History Museum,
view from the the 1st Samotechny lane
History and mission

The mission of the Museum is the retention of historical memory, the comprehension of the past in the name of the future. The museum is intended to become a public space for public presentation, study and updating the problems of the history of mass repressions, forced labor and political lack of freedom in the USSR.

Anton Vladimirovich Antonov-Ovseenko

The museum was founded in 2001 by Anton Vladimirovich Antonov-Ovseenko, a famous historian, journalist, public figure who at his time passed through the Stalin’s camps as a son of an "enemy of the people." The constitutor of the Museum is the Moscow Department of Culture. The first exhibition was opened in 2004 on the premises of the building on Petrovka Street.

Museum on Petrovka street

In 2012, Roman Vladimirovich Romanov was appointed as a director of the Museum.

Roman Vladimirovich Romanov

In 2015, the Museum moved to a new building in the 1st Samotechny lane. The house was built in 1906 by the architect Nikolai Ivanovich Zherikhov. For more than a hundred years, there were apartments for rent and communal apartments, a hostel and a car repair shop in its walls. Bombs fell in front of its windows, the subway was built and entire generations of Moscow families grew.

GULAG History Museum, the view from the outside

In the 1990s, the building was deserted. In 2012–2014, a large-scale reconstruction and re-equipment for museum needs were carried out in the abandoned building. The main facade of the house, facing the 1st Samotechny lane, was restored to its former historical appearance. The other three facades are lined with copper, which darkens slowly due to the properties of oxidizing and patinating under the influence of precipitation.

The opening ceremony of GULAG History Museum in the new building took place on October 30, 2015.

Renovation of the building the 1st Samotechny lane
Museum collection

The collection of GULAG History Museum includes an archive of documents, letters, memoirs of former prisoners of the GULAG; a collection of personal belongings of prisoners and other objects related to the history of imprisonment; a collection of works of art created by artists who have passed through the GULAG, and modern creators, offering their own understanding of this topic. The Museum collection is regularly replenished with new exhibits - photographs, paintings, documents, camp life artifacts.

Museum Exhibits
Exposition

The Museum exposition is dedicated to the history of the occurrence, development and decline of the system of corrective labor camps, the most important component of the state machine in the 1930s – 50s; its political, administrative and economic role. In the halls of the Museum are also presented fates of various people, victims of repressive policies, who were imprisoned. One of the main tasks of the permanent exposition of the Museum is to highlight the topic of preserving of historical memory, to pay attention not only to the understanding the past but also to the understanding the tasks of tomorrow.

Installation of a labyrinth of cell doors for prisoners
камер для заключённых
Events

The museum organizes stationary and mobile exhibitions based on the main collection and in cooperating with other museums, archives, institutes, publishing houses, monasteries, public organizations, cultural and educational centers, centers of modern art, as well as collectors, artists and photographers.

There are regular sessions, meetings and presentations devoted to new research works on the history of the GULAG and the problems associated with its understanding.

The Museum hosts lectures, performances, concerts, film screenings, creative meetings and performances, offering figurative interpretation of the topic of repressions. There are a Documentation Center, a library and a social and volunteer center. A memorial garden is going to be created on the territory adjacent to the Museum.

В 1929–1930 годах на территории СССР начала формироваться сеть лагерей, в которых отбывали наказание осужденные не только за бытовые и уголовные преступления, но и по политическим мотивам.

Строительство
Беломорско-Балтийского канала

Лишившись свободы, прав и нормальных жизненных условий, измождённые узники были вынуждены осваивать труднодоступные земли, валить лес, добывать уголь и золото, строить железные дороги, каналы, электростанции и даже целые города.

Строительство дороги

Более чем за 20 лет существования ГУЛАГа через лагеря прошли около двадцати миллионов человек, каждый десятый остался в ГУЛАГе навечно.

Сортировка рабочими породы

Со временем слово «ГУЛАГ», первоначально обозначавшее «Главное управление лагерей», стало зловещим символом беззакония, жизни на грани смерти, каторжного труда и человеческого бесправия.

Музей истории ГУЛАГа

Музей истории ГУЛАГа по своей тематике, миссии, истории возникновения входит в категорию музеев памяти, в основе каждого из которых лежит болезненное событие, с трудом поддающееся осмыслению.

Здание Музея истории ГУЛАГа,
вид со стороны 1-го Самотёчного пер.
История и миссия

Миссия Музея – сохранение исторической памяти, осмысление прошлого во имя будущего. Музей призван стать общественным пространством для публичного представления, изучения и актуализации проблем истории массовых репрессий, принудительного труда и политической несвободы в СССР.

Антон Владимирович Антонов-Овсеенко

Музей был основан в 2001 году Антоном Владимировичем Антоновым-Овсеенко – известным историком, публицистом, общественным деятелем, в свое время прошедшим через сталинские лагеря как сын «врага народа». Учредитель Музея – Департамент культуры города Москвы. Первая экспозиция была открыта в 2004 году в помещениях здания на улице Петровка.

Музей на Петровке, 2004 г.

В 2012 году директором Музея был назначен Роман Владимирович Романов.

Роман Владимирович Романов

В 2015 году Музей переехал в новое здание в 1-м Самотёчном переулке. Дом был построен в 1906 году по проекту архитектора Николая Ивановича Жерихова. Более чем за сто лет в его стенах были квартиры внаём и коммуналки, общежитие и автомастерская. Перед его окнами падали бомбы, строилось метро и росли целые поколения московских семей.

Здание Музея истории ГУЛАГа, вид снаружи

В 1990-х годах строение оказалось заброшенным. В 2012—2014 годах в запущенном строении велась масштабная реконструкция и переоборудование под музейные нужды. Главный фасад дома, выходящий на 1-й Самотечный переулок, был восстановлен в прежнем историческом облике. Остальные три фасада облицованы медью, которая постепенно темнеет за счет свойства оксидироваться и патинироваться под воздействием осадков.

Торжественное открытие Музея истории ГУЛАГа в новом здании состоялось 30 октября 2015 года.

Ремонт здания в 1-м Самотёчном пер.
Собрание Музея

Собрание Музея истории ГУЛАГа включает в себя архив документов, писем, воспоминаний бывших узников ГУЛАГа; коллекцию личных вещей, принадлежавших им и связанных с историей пребывания в заключении; коллекцию произведений искусства, созданных художниками, прошедшими ГУЛАГ, и современными авторами, предлагающими свое осмысление этой темы. Фонды Музея регулярно пополняются новыми экспонатами – фотографиями, картинами, документами, предметами лагерного быта.

Экспонаты Музея
Экспозиция

Экспозиция Музея посвящена истории возникновения, развития и упадка системы исправительно-трудовых лагерей, важнейшей составляющей государственной машины в 1930–50-е гг.; ее политико-административной и экономической роли. В залах Музея также представлены судьбы различных людей, ставших жертвами репрессивной политики и оказавшихся в заключении. Одна из главных задач постоянной экспозиции Музея – высветить тему сохранения исторической памяти, обратить внимание не только на осмысление прошлого, но и на осознание задач завтрашнего дня.

Инсталляция из лабиринта дверей
камер для заключённых
События

Музей организует стационарные и передвижные выставки на основе фондовой коллекции и в сотрудничестве с другими музеями, архивами, институтами, издательствами, монастырями, общественными организациями, культурными и образовательными центрами, центрами современного искусства, а также коллекционерами, художниками и фотографами.

Регулярно проходят заседания, встречи и презентации, посвященные новым исследованиям истории ГУЛАГа и проблемам, связанным с ее осмыслением.

В Музее проводятся лекции, спектакли, концерты, кинопоказы, творческие вечера и перформативные акции, предлагающие образное осмысление темы репрессий. Работает Центр документации, библиотека, социально-волонтерский центр. На прилегающей к Музею территории будет создан Сад Памяти.